2017 - Annual Neurology Research Symposium

The Department of Neurology held their second annual Neurology Research Symposium on Wednesday, May 17th, 2017. The half-day event included oral presentations and scientific posters. The symposium is intended to create awareness about the department’s substantial research efforts. This year, nine residents gave platform presentations about quality initiatives within the department and a broad spectrum of neurology research projects conducted by the faculty, staff, students and residents.


Symposium Speakers

  • Lynda Nwabuobi, MD – “Sex Differences in Homebound Advanced Parkinson’s Disease Patients”
  • Asya Wallach, MD – “Differential Diagnosis of Corticospinal Tract Lesions”
  • Nina Kim, MD – “Characteristics of General Neurology Readmissions”
  • Danielle Stember, MD – “Early Initiation of Aggressive Therapy for Fulminant Demyelinating Disease: Case Series”
  • Dana Price, MD – “Striving for a High Reliability Organization: A Quality Improvement Project on the Culture of Patient Safety”
  • Bonnie Wong, MD, MPH – “Adherence to Classic Ketogenic Diet vs. Modified Atkins Diet”
  • Alexander Allen, MD – “Guillain-Barre Syndrome and Myopathy in Mycoplasma Pneumoniae Infection”
  • Hannah Park, MD – “Supranuclear Gaze Palsy and Pendular Nystagmus in Creutzfeldt-Jakob Disease”
  • Michael Fara, MD, PhD – “Bellevue Hospital Stroke Quality Improvement Project: Improving ED Workflow in Acute Stroke Care in Order to Decrease Door-to-Needle Time”


Special Thanks

Luis Myers and NYU Catering Team
Jose Providence and the NYU RED+Facilities Team
Hillary Ledford, Kristen Lorenzo, Gerry Nubla and the NYU Printing Services Team
Christina Santiago, Administrative Manager for Neurology Education
Liliana Serrano, Project Manager for Neurology Research
Suzie Chin, Administrative Coordinator for Education
Christina Cronin, Program Coordinator for Education
Neurology Faculty and Trainees
Arielle M. Kurzweil, MD, Residency Program Director
Patricia A. Gaeta, MBA, RD, CDN, Department Administrator
Laura J. Balcer, MD, MSCE, Vice Chair
Steven L. Galetta, MD, Chair