Annual Neurology Research Symposium

The Department of Neurology showcased its latest research during the inaugural Annual Research Symposium on Wednesday, May 11th, 2016. The half-day event included oral presentations and scientific posters. The symposium is intended to be the first of many to help create awareness about the department’s substantial research efforts.


Symposium Speakers

  • Dr. Tatiana Bakeava – First year Neurology resident: “Increasing Velocity Slow Phases in Paraneoplastic Downbeat Nystagmus"
  • Dr. Aaron Geller – Third year Neurology resident: “Electrocorticograpic Correlates of Saccades”
  • Dr. Alexandra Lloyd-Smith – Second year Neurology resident: “Bow-Tie Optic Atrophy by Optical Coherence Tomography in an Optic Tract Lesion”
  • Dr. Sujata Thawani – Faculty: “Celiac Disease and Risk of Myasthenia Gravis—Nationwide Population-Based Study”
  • Dr. Kaitlyn Lillemoe – First year Neurology resident: “Post-Infectious Myelitis Case Report and Diagnostic Algorithm”
  • Dr. Mia Minen – Faculty: “Symptoms and Care Provided to Concussion Patients Who Have 72 Hour Emergency Department Revisits: A Retrospective Cohort Study”
  • Dr. Sonja Blum – Faculty: “Delusional Nihilism and Altered Time Perception after Mild Traumatic Brain Injury: A Case Report and Review of the Literature”
  • Dr. Michael Fara: “Left Temporal Meningioma Presenting as Amnestic Mild Cognitive Impairment”
  • Dr. Matt Sanger: “Standardized Stroke Code and Admission EMR Order Sets”
  • Dr. Miguel Litao: “Permanent Deployment of Solitaire FRTM for Acute Basilar Occlusion"
  • Dr. Aaron Lord – Faculty: “Infections are a Major Driver of 30-day Readmission after Intracerebral Hemorrhage”


Neurology Symposium Awards

Two of our residents were awarded for their work showcased at the 2016 Neurology Research Symposium. Our 2016 graduating resident, Dr. Matthew Sanger, was awarded for excellence in research and his outstanding quality and safety project titled “Standardized Stroke Code and Admission EMR Order Sets” and Dr. Tatiana Bakaeva for her outstanding clinical project titled “Increasing Velocity Slow Phases in Paraneoplastic Downbeat Nystagmus.”



Symposium Organizers

  • Laura J. Balcer, MD, MSCE
    Professor of Neurology and Population Health, Vice Chair
  • Mia T. Minen, MD, MPH
    Assistant Professor of Neurology, Director of Headache Services
  • Liliana Serrano
    Project Manager, Research Mission
  • Christina Santiago
    Administrative Manager, Education Mission