Diversity Ambassadors | NYU Langone Health

Skip to Main Content
Professional Development for Diversity Diversity Ambassadors

Diversity Ambassadors

Diversity ambassadors are physicians, faculty, and researchers who encourage diversity initiatives in their departments. Appointed by the chair or the director of the department or institute, these ambassadors serve as liaisons between the departments and the Office of Diversity Affairs to promote diversity and inclusion at NYU Grossman School of Medicine and NYU Langone.

Each diversity ambassador helps develop diversity goals and leads the execution of diversity initiatives aimed at improving curriculum design, research initiatives, and recruitment and retention strategies for the department. Every quarter, ambassadors meet with their department chairs to discuss their role. They also meet with diversity leadership and other ambassadors to discuss progress, successes, and challenges and to receive or offer assistance and advice. Each year, the ambassadors present progress updates to their departments.

Departments’ and Institutes’ Diversity Ambassadors

The following are the current diversity ambassadors for our departments and institutes.

Department of Anesthesiology, Perioperative Care, and Pain Medicine

Uchenna O. Umeh, MD

Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Pharmacology

Erika Bach, PhD

Department of Cardiothoracic Surgery

Leora Balsam, MD

Department of Cell Biology

Jeremy Paul, PhD

Ronald O. Perelman Department of Dermatology

Nada Elbuluk, MD

Ronald O. Perelman Department of Emergency Medicine

Aaron Arredondo, MD

Teresa Bowen-Spinelli, MD

Department of Environmental Medicine

Cathy Klein, PhD

Judy Zelikoff, PhD

Institute for Innovations in Medical Education

Crystal Mainiero

NYU Health Sciences Library

Aileen McCrillis, MS, MPH

Department of Microbiology

Joel Oppenheim, PhD

Department of Neurology

Myrna Cardiel, MD

Sujata P. Thawani, MD, MPH

Neuroscience Institute

Nina Gray, PhD

Richard Tsien, PhD

Department of Neuroscience and Physiology

Nina Gray, PhD

Richard Tsien, DPhil

Department of Neurosurgery

Anthony Frempong-Boadu, MD

Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Veronica Ades, MD, MPH

Laurie Zephyrin, MD

Department of Ophthalmology

Vaidehi S. Dedania, MD

Department of Orthopedic Surgery

Donna Phillips, MD

Department of Otolaryngology—Head and Neck Surgery

Judy Lee, MD

Department of Pathology

Jorge Ghiso, PhD

Department of Pediatrics

Michael Espiritu, MD

Hansjörg Wyss Department of Plastic Surgery

Alexes Hazen, MD

Department of Population Health

Chau Trinh-Shevrin, DrPH

Department of Psychiatry

Helena Hansen, MD

Department of Radiation Oncology

Carmen Perez, MD, PhD

Department of Radiology

Nicole Hindman, MD

Rusk Institute of Rehabilitation Medicine

Parul Jajoo, DO

Skirball Institute of Biomolecular Medicine

Jeremy Paul, PhD

Department of Surgery

Akuezunkpa O. Ude Welcome, MD