First K. H. Kuo Summer School of Electron Microscopy and Crystallography

Beijing Workshop of Cryo-Electron Microscopy

in Structural Biology

Tsinghua University, Beijing, China, July 14 - 16, 2008


Scientific Topics

Invited Speakers



Application Form

Fellowships for Students


About the School Series


Why a summer school named after Professor Ke Hsin Kuo?

Professor Ke Hsin Kuo (1923 - 2006) was a prominent electron microscopist and crystallographer. He attended Zhejiang University in the early 1940's. After studying and working in Sweden for ten years, he returned to China in 1956 and introduced electron microscopy to materials science research there. His discoveries of icosahedral, octagonal and decagonal quasicrystals in 1980’s and 1990’s placed him among the most influential electron microscopists and crystallographers in the world. Professor Kuo was also instrumental to the introduction of cryo-electron microscopy to China. He served as President of the Asian Society of Electron Microscopy, President of the Chinese Society of Electron Microscopy, and Member of the Commission on Electron Diffraction of the Internal Union of Crystallography. Over the years, he trained more than 120 graduate students, most of them are currently active in scientific research. This school series is a tribute to Professor Kuo as a remarkable human being, a great scientist and a loving mentor.

The subject of the school series will alternate between biology and materials science. The second school in the series will be on materials science and be held in Beijing in 2009, to be organized by Drs. Lian-Mao Peng (Chair), Ze Zhang and Lu-Chang Qin.


Advisory Board for the School Series

Heng-Qiang Ye (Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)

Vice Chairs:
Ze Zhang (Beijing University of Technology, China)
Sen-Fang Sui (Tsinghua University, China)
Lian-Mao Peng (Peking University, China)