History of the Division of Endocrinology

The Division of Endocrinology today is building on a legacy of success and achievement that dates back to the 1960s, when Dr. Charles Hollander was recruited to NYU School of Medicine as the division's Director. During his tenure at NYU, Dr. Hollander described and characterized a new disorder, T3 toxicosis. He also led an extraordinary team of individuals, including Drs. Herbert H. SamuelsSandra KammermanDavid L. KleinbergManfred Blum, and William Drucker, many of whom remain active participants in the division's academic activities.

After Dr. Hollander's retirement in 1997, Dr. Samuels became Director of the division. Under the leadership of Drs. Hollander and Samuels, NYU's Division of Endocrinology achieved national and international recognition for both its research activities and the quality of the fellows it trained. In 2001 Dr. Samuels was named Chair of the Department of Pharmacology, and in 2003, Dr. Ann Danoff assumed the position as Acting Director of the Endocrine Division. Subsequently, Dr. Danoff was appointed the Director of the division in 2005. In 2014, Dr. Ira Goldberg was recruited to be the Director of the Division of Endocrinology.

Former notable trainees include Dr. Marvin Gershengorn (former Chair of the Program in Physiology, Biophysics, and Molecular Medicine at Cornell's Weill Medical College, and currently serving as Director of the Division of Intramural Research in the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases), Dr. Richard Kolesnick (currently active in the Division of Molecular Pharmacology and Chemistry at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center), and Drs. Zebulon Horowitz, Connie Newman, and Brian Levy, who hold leadership roles in industry