Brian D. Dynlacht, Ph.D.

Brian DynlachtBrian D. Dynlacht, Ph.D.
Professor of Pathology

Molecular Oncology / Cancer, transcription, cell cycle, centrosome biology, genomics, (212) 263 6162
Fax: (212) 263 6157
522 First Avenue, SRB 11th Floor, New York, NY 10016
Dynlacht Lab


Research and Clinical Interests

The Dynlacht laboratory uses a combination of biochemical, genomic, and computational methods to dissect the role that the retinoblastoma tumor suppressor protein (pRb) family plays in effecting chromatin modifications that underlie gene repression during cell cycle progression and myogenic differentiation. The laboratory also focuses on understanding the molecular controls that govern centrosome duplication, which plays a pivotal role in cell cycle progression and mitosis.

Selected Publications

Kobayashi T, Tsang WY, Li J, William Lane W, Dynlacht BD. Centriolar Kinesin Kif24 Interacts with CP110 to Remodel Microtubules and Regulate Ciliogenesis. Cell. 2011 Jun 10;145(6):914-925. Epub 2011 May 26. Cited in Pubmed; PMID 21620453. doi: 10.1016/j.cell.2011.04.028.

Asp P, Blum R, Vethantham V, Parisi F, Micsinai M, Cheng J, Bowman C, Kluger Y, Dynlacht BD. Genome-wide remodeling of the epigenetic landscape during myogenic differentiation. Proc Natl Acad Sci U S A. 2011 May 31;108(22):E149-E158. Epub 2011 May 5. Cited in Pubmed; PMID 21551099. doi: 10.1073/pnas.1102223108. PMCID: PMC3107312.

Tsang WY*, Spektor A*, Vijayakumar S, Bista BR, Sanchez I, Duensing S, Dynlacht BD. Cep76, a Centrosomal Protein that Specifically Restrains Centriole Reduplication. Dev Cell. 2009 May 19;16(5):649–60. doi: 10.1016/j.devcel.2009.03.004.

Asp P, Acosta-Alvear D, Tsikitis M, van Oevelen C, Dynlacht BD. E2f3b plays an essential role in myogenic differentiation through isoform-specific gene regulation. Genes Dev. 2009 Jan 1;23:37-53. doi: 10.1101/gad.1727309.

van Oevelen C, Wang J, Asp P, Yan Q, Kaelin WG Jr, Kluger Y, Dynlacht BD. A role for mammalian Sin3 in permanent gene silencing. Mol Cell. 2008 Nov 7;32(3):359-70. doi: 10.1016/j.molcel.2008.10.015.

Tsang WY, Bossard C, Khanna H, Peränen J, Swaroop A, Malhotra V, Dynlacht BD. CP110 suppresses primary cilia formation through its interaction with CEP290, a protein deficient in human ciliary disease. Dev Cell. 2008 Aug;15(2):187-97. Cited in Pubmed; PMID 18694559. doi: 10.1016/j.devcel.2008.07.004.

Spektor A, Tsang WY, Khoo D, Dynlacht BD. Cep97 and CP110 Suppress a Cilia Assembly Program. Cell. 2007 Aug 24;678-90.

Lerman G, McQuown J, Blais A, Dynlacht BD, Chen G, Mishra B. Functional genomics via multiscale analysis: application to gene expression and ChIP-on-chip data. Bioinformatics. 2007 Feb 1;23(3):314-20.

Tsang WY, Spektor A, Luciano DJ, Indjeian VB, Chen Z, Salisbury JL, Sánchez I, Dynlacht BD. CP110 Cooperates with Two Calcium-binding Proteins to Regulate Cytokinesis and Genome Stability. Mol Biol Cell. 2006 Aug;17(8):3423-34.

Blais A, Tsikitis M, Acosta-Alvear D, Sharan R, Kluger Y, Dynlacht BD. An initial blueprint for myogenic differentiation. Genes Dev. 2005 Mar 1;19(5):553-69.

Selected Reviews

Kobayashi T, Dynlacht BD. Regulating the transition from centriole to basal body (review). J Cell Biol. 2011 May 2;193(3):435-44. Cited in Pubmed; PMID 21536747. doi: 10.1083/jcb.201101005. PMCID: PMC3087006 [Available on 2011/11/2].

Organizational Associations

Editorial Board, Cell Death and Differentiation; Editorial Board, Molecular and Cellular Biology; Ad Hoc Editor, Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences; Member, NIH MGB study section; Editorial Board, Cilia

Selected Awards

1987 Yale University Summa cum Laude and Distinction in the Major of Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry
1992 Oncogene Science Award for Outstanding Research in Transcription
1992 PhD dissertation represented UC Berkeley in the CGS International Dissertation Competition
1993-1995 Damon Runyon-Walter Winchell Cancer Fund Fellow
1995-1997 Kenneth G. and Elaine A. Langone Damon Runyon Scholar Award
1998-2002 Pew Scholar in the Biomedical Sciences
1998-2003 Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE)
2005-2010 Irma T. Hirschl Trust Career Award