Surgical Pathology Services | NYU Langone Health

Skip to Main Content
Anatomic Pathology Services Surgical Pathology Services

Surgical Pathology Services

Surgical pathology services offered by NYU Langone’s Department of Pathology are located at Tisch Hospital and directed by Andre L. Moreira, MD, PhD.

Our surgical pathology team includes more than 20 board-certified attending physicians who process more than 60,000 surgical specimens per year. Our attendings provide subspecialized consultations in all areas of surgical pathology, including bone and soft tissue; breast; cardiothoracic; dermatological; gastrointestinal and liver; genitourinary; gynecologic, perinatal, and obstetrical; head and neck; pediatric; and renal pathology.

In addition to providing subspecialized services, our pathologists have broad exposure to general specimens to maintain their diagnostic expertise.

The Department of Pathology’s grossing room has been completely renovated with modernized facilities and a digital photo system.

Turnaround Time

The routine timeframe for turnaround is three to five days.

Surgical Pathologists

Bone and Soft Tissue Pathology

Syed T. Hoda, MD
Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Pathology
syed.hoda@nyulangone.org

George Jour, MD
Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Pathology
george.jour@nyulangone.org

Breast Pathology

Farbod Darvishian, MD
Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Pathology
farbod.darvishian@nyulangone.org

Diana Nimeh, MD
Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Pathology
diana.nimeh@nyulangone.org

Stella Gordin, MD
Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Pathology
stella.gordin@nyulangone.org

Ugur Ozerdem, MD
Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Pathology
ugur.ozerdem@nyulangone.org

Paolo Cotzia, MD
Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Pathology
paolo.cotzia@nyulangone.org

Cardiothoracic Pathology

Andre L. Moreira, MD, PhD
Clinical Professor, Department of Pathology
andre.moreira@nyulangone.org

Navneet Narula, MD
Clinical Professor, Department of Pathology
navneet.narula@nyulangone.org

Fang Zhou, MD
Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Pathology
fang.zhou@nyulangone.org

Dermatopathology

George Jour, MD
Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Pathology
george.jour@nyulangone.org

Hui C. Tsou, MD
Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Pathology
hui.tsou@nyulangone.org

Gastrointestinal and Liver Pathology

Wenqing Cao, MD
Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Pathology
wenqing.cao@nyulangone.org

Cristina H. Hajdu, MD
Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Pathology
cristina.hajdu@nyulangone.org

Neil D. Theise, MD
Clinical Professor, Department of Pathology
neil.theise@nyulangone.org

Yvelisse N. Suarez, MD
Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Pathology
yvelisse.suarez@nyulangone.org

Katherine Sun, MD, PhD
Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Pathology
katherine.sun@nyulangone.org

Gloria Q. Young, MD
Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Pathology
gloria.young@nyulangone.org

Weiguo Liu, MD, PhD
Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Pathology
weiguo.liu@nyulangone.org

Oliver J. Szeto, MD
Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Pathology
oliver.szeto@nyulangone.org

Margaret Cho, MD
Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Pathology
margaret.cho@nyulangone.org

Deepthi Hoskoppal, MD
Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Pathology
deepthi.hoskoppal@nyulangone.org

Genitourinary Pathology

Fang-Ming Deng, MD, PhD
Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Pathology
fang-ming.deng@nyulangone.org

Jonathan Melamed, MD
Professor, Department of Pathology
jonathan.melamed@nyulangone.org

Qinghu Ren, MD, PhD
Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Pathology
quinghu.ren@nyulangone.org

Hongying Huang, MD
Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Pathology
hongying.huang@nyulangone.org

Kyung E. Park, MD
Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Pathology
kyung.park@nyulangone.org

Deepthi Hoskoppal, MD
Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Pathology
deepthi.hoskoppal@nyulangone.org

Gynecologic, Perinatal, and Obstetrical Pathology

Deborah F. DeLair, MD
Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Pathology
deborah.delair@nyulangone.org

Alan Marcus, MD
Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Pathology
alan.marcus@nyulangone.org

Dorota A. Popiolek, MD
Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Pathology
dorota.popiolek@nyulangone.org

Esther H. Adler, MD
Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Pathology
esther.adler@nyulangone.org

Khushbakhat R. Mittal, MD
Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Pathology
khushbakhat.mittal@nyulangone.org

Pratibha Shukla, MD
Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Pathology
pratibha.shukla@nyulangone.org

Head and Neck Pathology

Cheng Z. Liu, MD, PhD
Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Pathology
cheng.liu@nyulangone.org

Fang Zhou, MD
Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Pathology
fang.zhou@nyulangone.org

Tamar C. Brandler, MD
Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Pathology
tamar.brandler@nyulangone.org

Pediatric Pathology

Margret S. Magid, MD
Professor, Department of Pathology
margret.magid@nyulangone.org

Kristen Thomas, MD
Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Pathology
kristin.thomas@nyulangone.org

Renal Pathology

Ming Wu, MD
Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Pathology
ming.wu@nyulangone.org

Contact Us

For inquiries relating to surgical pathology services at NYU Langone, please email Dr. Moreira, director of surgical pathology, at andre.moreira@nyulangone.org.