Cytopathology Services | NYU Langone Health

Skip to Main Content
Anatomic Pathology Services Cytopathology Services

Cytopathology Services

The Department of Pathology’s cytopathology services are directed by Aylin Simsir, MD, at NYU Langone and Melissa A. Yee-Chang, DO, at NYC Health + Hospitals/Bellevue.

Our 12 full-time subspecialty-trained and board-certified cytopathologists interpret a wide variety of gynecologic tests, such as Pap tests, as well as non-gynecologic cytology specimens. We also perform palpable and ultrasound-guided fine-needle aspiration (FNA) biopsies.

Our cytopathologists process more than 50,000 specimens every year for patients from Bellevue and NYU Langone’s Tisch Hospital, Pathology Associates Laboratory, and Perlmutter Cancer Center. Our FNA practice is the largest in New York City, with experts there performing more than 5,000 procedures per year.

Turnaround Time

The average turnaround time is two days for non-gynecologic cytology. For Pap tests with high-risk human papillomavirus (HPV) testing, the average turnaround time is five days.

Cytopathologists

Aylin Simsir, MD
Professor, Department of Pathology
aylin.simsir@nyulangone.org

Tamar C. Brandler, MD
Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Pathology
tamar.brandler@nyulangone.org

Joan F. Cangiarella, MD
Associate Professor and Vice Chair of Clinical Operations, Department of Pathology
joan.cangiarella@nyulangone.org

Osvaldo J. Hernandez, MD
Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Pathology
osvaldo.hernandez@nyulangone.org

Allen H. Leung, MD
Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Pathology
allen.leung@nyulangone.org

Pascale G. Levine, MD
Clinical Professor, Department of Pathology
pascale.levine@nyulangone.org

Thaira Oweity, MD
Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Pathology
thaira.oweity@nyulangone.org

Negin Shafizadeh, MD
Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Pathology
negin.shafizadeh@nyulangone.org

Yan Shi, MD, PhD
Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Pathology
yan.shi@nyulangone.org

Wei Sun, MD
Clinical Professor, Department of Pathology
wei.sun@nyulangone.org

Oliver J. Szeto, MD
Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Pathology
oliver.szeto@nyulangone.org

Melissa A. Yee-Chang, DO
Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Pathology
yeem03@med.nyu.edu

Contact Us

The cytopathology laboratory is located in Manhattan at 560 First Avenue, room TH412. For inquiries relating to cytopathology services at NYU Langone, please contact Dr. Simsir, director of cytopathology, at aylin.simsir@nyulangone.org or 212-263-5479.