Surgical Pathology

The general surgical pathology services of the NYU Department of Pathology are located at Tisch Hospital and at Bellevue Hospital, with approximately 18,000 and 10,000 annual cases respectively, and at HJD, with 10,000 annual cases. Tisch Hospital, the major tertiary institute of the NYU Langone Medical Center, is a 720-bed teaching hospital. Currently directed by Andre Moreira, M.D., Ph.D., the services at Tisch Hospital will directed by Aylin Simsir, M.D. Jonathan Melamed, M.D., is the director at Bellevue Hospital. Surgical Pathology in the Department includes more than twenty board certified attendings, who currently handle a volume of more than 50,000 surgical specimens per year. While we provide many sub-specialized services, the faculty members continue to have a broad exposure to general specimens to maintain their diagnostic expertise. The Department's grossing room has been completely renovated with modernized facilities and a digital photo system. Advanced immunopathology provides a variety of high quality immunostains. In addition, the re-structured and progressively developing molecular pathology laboratory provides diagnostic analysis and opportunities for transitional research.

Turnaround Time
Routine timeframe for turnaround is 3-5 days.

Safety: Universal precautions are followed.

Pathologists
Andre L. Moreira, M.D., Ph.D, Professor of Pathology
Andre.Moreira@nyulangone.org
Phone: (212) 263-5470

Aylin Simsir, M.D., Professor of Pathology
Aylin.Simsir@nyulangone.org
Phone: (212) 263 6455 , Fax: (212) 263 5509

Michael A. Bannan, M.D., Assistant Professor of Pathology
Michael.Bannan@nyulangone.org
Phone: (212) 263 5470 , Fax: (212) 263 7916

Norman C. Charles, M.D., Clinical Professor of Pathology and Ophthalmology
Norman.Charles@nyulangone.org
Phone: (212) 263 6437 , Fax: (212) 263 8994

Farbod Darvishian, M.D., Clinical Associate Professor of Pathology
Farbod.Darvishian@nyulangone.org
Phone: (212) 263 0138 , Fax: (212) 263 5509

Antonio Galvao Neto, M.D., Clinical Associate Professor of Pathology
Antonio.GalvaoNeto@nyulangone.org
Phone: (646) 501 4379 , Fax: (212) 263 7916

Cristina H. Hajdu, M.D., Clinical Assistant Professor
Cristina.Hajdu@nyulangone.org
Phone: (212) 263 3586 , Fax: (212) 263 7916

Pascale Levine, M.D., Clinical Associate Professor
Pascale.Levine@nyulangone.org
Phone: (212) 731 5115 , Fax: (212) 731 5535

Cynthia Liu, M.D., Ph.D., Clinical Associate Professor
Cynthia.Liu@nyulangone.org
Phone: (212) 263 5967 , Fax: (212) 263 7712

Jonathan Melamed, M.D., Professor of Pathology
Jonathan.Melamed@nyulangone.org
Phone: (212) 263 8927 , Fax: (212) 263 7916

Khush Mittal, M.D., Associate Professor of Pathology
khush.mittal@med.nyu.edu
Phone: (212) 263 3966

Diana Nimeh, M.D., Assistant Professor of Pathology
Diana.Nimeh@nyulangone.org
Phone: (212) 263 6857

Thaira Oweity, M.D., Clinical Associate Professor
Thaira.Oweity@nyulangone.org
Phone: (212) 731 5115 , Fax: (212) 731 5535

Zhiheng Pei, M.D., Ph.D., Associate Professor of Pathology and Medicine
Zhiheng.Pei@nyulangone.org
Phone: (212) 951 5492

Dorota A. Popiolek, M.D., Assistant Professor of Pathology
Dorota.Popiolek@nyulangone.org
Phone: (212) 263 6452 , Fax: (212) 263 7573

Pratibha Shukla, M.D., Assistant Professor of Pathology
Pratibha.Shukla@nyulangone.org
Phone: (212) 562 7892 , Fax: (212) 763 7573

Rosemary Wieczorek, M.D., Adjunct Associate Professor of Pathology
rosemary.wieczorek@med.va.gov

Melissa Yee-Chang, D.O., Clinical Assistant Professor
yeem03@med.nyu.edu
Phone: (646) 501 4108 , Fax: (212) 263 7649

Surgical Pathology - Handling Instructions

Please follow the policy for the processing of specimens for Surgical Pathology as outlined in the Specimen Submission Manual document "Processing of Specimens for Surgical Pathology" (PDF attached for download).

Download PDFProcessing of Specimens for Surgical Pathology

 

Safety: Universal precautions are followed.