Samuel D. Leidesdorf Award | NYU Langone Health

Skip to Main Content
Alumni Achievement Awards Samuel D. Leidesdorf Award

Samuel D. Leidesdorf Award

NYU Grossman School of Medicine honors generous alumni supporters with the Samuel D. Leidesdorf Award, which pays tribute to the legacy of Samuel D. Leidesdorf, who served as chair of NYU Langone’s board of trustees from 1956 until 1968.

Mr. Leidesdorf was an honorary member of the Alumni Association. Foreseeing NYU Grossman School of Medicine’s pressing need for a tertiary care hospital, he led the fundraising campaign to establish what is now Tisch Hospital. He immersed himself fully in the endeavor, working to ensure that his vision of a comprehensive medical center campus became a reality.

The Samuel D. Leidesdorf Award continues to acknowledge like-minded alumni visionaries who have demonstrated a commitment to philanthropy.

Samuel D. Leidesdorf Award Recent Recipients

2017: Thomas J. Liesegang, MD ’70
2016: Andrew J. Manganaro, MD ’72
2015: Howard P. Furst, MD ’93
2014: Doreen J. Addrizzo-Harris, MD ’89, and Loren J. Harris, MD ’87
2013: Rena Sue Brand, MD ’83
2012: David K. Bloomgarden, MD ’77
2011: Elayne K. Mustalish, MD ’66, and Anthony C. Mustalish, MD ’66

View a complete archive of award recipients.