Ophthalmology Leadership | NYU Langone Health

Skip to Main Content
About the Department of Ophthalmology Ophthalmology Leadership

Ophthalmology Leadership

NYU Langone’s Department of Ophthalmology leaders are outstanding educators, researchers, and clinicians.

Our Leadership

Kathryn A. Colby, MD, PhD

Chair of Ophthalmology

Lama A. Al-Aswad, MD, MPH

Vice Chair for Innovations

Douglas R. Lazzaro, MD

Vice Chair for Operations, Clinical Affairs, and Business Development

Joel S. Schuman, MD

Elaine Langone Professor of Ophthalmology and Vice Chair for Research

Gadi Wollstein, MD

Vice Chair for Clinical Research

Eleanore T. Kim, MD

Director of the Ophthalmology Residency

Ilyse Haberman, MD

Associate Director of the Ophthalmology Residency

Zachary Elkin, MD

Director of Medical Student Education

Joseph F. Panarelli, MD

Director of the Glaucoma Fellowship Program

Shukti Chakravarti, PhD

Director of Basic Science Research

Laurence Sperber, MD

Director of Alumni Affairs