Cytopathology

With ten full-time and three part-time practicing cytopathologists, the cytopathology services of the NYU Department of Pathology perform Fine Needle Aspiration (FNA) biopsies, cervicovaginal cytology, and non-gynecologic exfoliative cytology. Over 50,000 cases are processed annually for patients from Bellevue Hospital, Tisch Hospital, the NYU School of Medicine Laboratory in Skirball, the Radiology Thyroid Clinic, and the NYU Clinical Cancer Center. Cytopathology is directed by Aylin Simsir, M.D., at Tisch Hospital and by Melissa A. Yee-Chang, DO, at Bellevue Hospital. Our fine needle aspiration practice is one of the largest FNA services in New York City and performs more than 5,000 aspiration biopsies in NYU clinics and off-site in physicians' practices per year. NYU cytopathologists specialize in both palpable and image-guided FNAs and evaluate over 500 second-opinion cases annually in consultation. Our laboratory also performs cervicovaginal cytologic evaluations with reflex Human Papillomavirus testing.

Turnaround Time
On-site evaluation is performed immediately for all aspiration biopsies. The turnaround time is 2-4 days. For Pap tests, turnaround time is less than 7 days.

Safety: Universal precautions are followed.

Pathologists
Joan Cangiarella, M.D., Associate Professor of Pathology and Vice Chair of Clinical Operations; Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs
joan.cangiarella@med.nyu.edu
Phone: (212) 263 0945

Farbod Darvishian, M.D., Clinical Associate Professor of Pathology
Farbod.Darvishian@nyumc.org
Phone: (212) 263 0138 , Fax: (212) 263 5509

Osvaldo Hernandez, M.D., Assistant Professor of Pathology
Osvaldo.Hernandez@nyumc.org
Phone: (212) 731 5115 , Fax: (212) 731 5535

Allen Leung, M.D., Clinical Assistant Professor
Allen.Leung@nyumc.org
Phone: (212) 263 3568 , Fax: (212) 263 5509

Pascale Levine, M.D., Clinical Associate Professor
Pascale.Levine@nyumc.org
Phone: (212) 731 5115 , Fax: (212) 731 5535

Thaira Oweity, M.D., Clinical Associate Professor
Thaira.Oweity@nyumc.org
Phone: (212) 731 5115 , Fax: (212) 731 5535

Yan Shi, M.D., Ph.D., Clinical Assistant Professor
Yan.Shi@nyumc.org
Phone: (212) 562 7891 , Fax: (212) 263 5509

Aylin Simsir, M.D., Professor of Pathology
Aylin.Simsir@nyumc.org
Phone: (212) 263 6455 , Fax: (212) 263 5509

Wei Sun, M.D., Associate Professor of Pathology
Wei.Sun@nyumc.org
Phone: (212) 263 5411 , Fax: (212) 263 5099

Xiao-Jun Wei, M.D., Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Pathology
Xiao-Jun.Wei@nyumc.org
Phone: (212) 263 5482 , Fax: (212) 263 5509

Melissa Yee-Chang, D.O., Clinical Assistant Professor
yeem03@med.nyu.edu
Phone: (646) 501 4108 , Fax: (212) 263 7649

Ronaldo L. Zamuco, M.D., Clinical Assistant Professor of Pathology
Ronaldo.Zamuco@nyumc.org
Phone: (212) 263 3986 , Fax: (212) 263 3204

Downloads:
Cytopathology Requisition Form.pdf (pdf, 226kb)