About the Department of Psychiatry | NYU Langone Health

Skip to Main Content

About the Department of Psychiatry

Our department, one of the largest at NYU Langone, continues to grow.

The Department of Psychiatry has a long and rich tradition of excellence at NYU Langone Health. NYU Grossman School of Medicine is widely considered to be the birthplace of American psychiatry, and our department has grown into one of the institution’s largest.

Our goals are to provide exceptional psychiatric clinical care, address community mental health concerns, train outstanding clinicians, and conduct groundbreaking research on a wide range of mental health conditions such as anxiety and complicated grief, mood disorders, dementia, and post-traumatic stress disorder.

Because of our dedication to excellent patient care and advanced research, we are committed to offering the finest educational opportunities to medical students, residents, fellows, and other trainees. Most of our clinical, academic, and research activities take place at NYU Langone’s Tisch Hospital, NYC Health + Hospitals/Bellevue, and the VA NY Harbor Healthcare System.

We also offer clinical care at NYU Langone Hospital—Brooklyn and NYU Langone Hospital—Long Island and have several training and research affiliates, including The Nathan S. Kline Institute for Psychiatric Research and several other New York State psychiatric centers.

Overall, the Department of Psychiatry has more than 600 faculty, more than 80 residents and fellows, and at least 100 active grants and innovative clinical trials. In 2019, our department received a five-year grant from the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism of the National Institutes of Health to establish the Center for the Study of Alcohol Use Disorder and Traumatic Stress, where much of our innovative research on cannabidiol is taking place.

Our Leadership

Our department leadership comprises experts in the field of psychiatry.

Charles R. Marmar, MD
Department Chair
Director, Center for Alcohol Use Disorder and Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder
The Lucius N. Littauer Professor of Psychiatry
charles.marmar@nyulangone.org
646-754-4855

Lenard A. Adler, MD
Director, Adult ADHD Program
Department Vice Chair for Education
Professor of Psychiatry and Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
lenard.adler@nyulangone.org
646-754-4760

Deepti Anbarasan, MD
Director, Scholarship
Clinical Associate Professor of Psychiatry
deepti.anbarasan@nyulangone.org
212-562-4678

Mary A. Badaracco, MD
Director and Chief of Service, Department of Psychiatry, NYC Health + Hospitals/Bellevue
Department Vice Chair
Professor of Psychiatry
mary.badaracco@nyulangone.org
212-263-6220

D. H. Bhatt, MD, PhD
Director, Psychiatry Residency
Clinical Associate Professor of Psychiatry
d.bhatt@nyulangone.org
646-754-5124

Victoria C. Dinsell, MD
Director, Psychiatry Clerkship
Clinical Associate Professor of Psychiatry
victoria.dinsell@nyulangone.org
212-562-8976

Christin Drake, MD
Director, Diversity, Equity, and Antiracism
Clinical Assistant Professor of Psychiatry
christin.drake@nyulangone.org

W. Gordon Frankle, MD
Chief, Psychiatry Service, NYU Langone Hospital—Brooklyn
Department Vice Chair
Associate Professor of Psychiatry
william.frankle@nyulangone.org
718-630-7174

David L. Ginsberg, MD
Chief, Psychiatry Service, Tisch Hospital
Department Vice Chair for Clinical Affairs
Clinical Professor of Psychiatry
david.ginsberg@nyulangone.org
212-263-7419

Donald C. Goff, MD
Director, The Nathan S. Kline Institute for Psychiatric Research
Department Vice Chair for Research
The Marvin Stern Professor of Psychiatry
donald.goff@nyulangone.org
646-754-4843

Maura Monteforte, MPA
Department Administrator
maura.monteforte@nyulangone.org
646-754-4855

Aaron Pinkhasov, MD
Chief, Psychiatry Service, NYU Langone Hospital—Long Island
Clinical Professor of Psychiatry
aaron.pinkhasov@nyulangone.org
516-663-2547

Molly E. Poag, MD
Assistant Dean for Education in the Clinical Sciences
Director, Medical Student Education in Psychiatry
Clinical Associate Professor of Psychiatry
molly.poag@nyulangone.org
646-754-4832

Naomi M. Simon, MD
Department Vice Chair, Research Faculty Development and Mentorship
Professor of Psychiatry
naomi.simon@nyulangone.org
646-754-4768

Tanya C. Sippy, MD, PhD
Director, Research Track for Residency Training
Assistant Professor of Psychiatry
tanya.sippy@nyulangone.org
212-263-7419

Amanda M. Spray, PhD
Director, Psychology Clinical
Associate Professor of Psychiatry
amanda.spray@nyulangone.org
646-754-4822

Adam Wolkin, MD
Associate Chief of Staff, Mental Health, VA NY Harbor Healthcare System
Department Vice Chair
Associate Professor of Psychiatry
adam.wolkin@nyulangone.org
212-686-7500, extension 7521