Office of Medical Education

MD Curriculum Office of Medical Education
Hero Image
MD Curriculum Office of Medical Education

NYU School of Medicine’s Office of Medical Education offers administrative assistance and resources to help students receive the highest-quality medical education available. Our services include annual medical curriculum evaluation and analysis, student assessment, and resources for faculty.

Letter from Our Dean

The role of the Office of Medical Education is to actively support NYU School of Medicine students in their educational endeavors at a time of remarkable change in the practice of medicine, technology, and research. 

Our office works closely with faculty and administration to ensure that our students receive an unparalleled medical education. As a collaborative team, students and faculty learn and discover together. We are proud to produce graduates who approach the profession of medicine with skill, compassion, intellectual discipline, and professionalism.

The Office of Medical Education ensures that students receive a medical education with a strong foundation in the core principles of basic science, mechanisms of disease, and integrated clinical skills. NYU School of Medicine is excited to offer a patient-centered, disease-focused curriculum that enhances the intellectual link between the classroom and patient care.

All of us in the Office of Medical Education are pleased to support our students and faculty by cultivating a culture of scholarship, mentorship, professionalism, and humanism. We encourage you to learn more about our exciting curriculum, the clinical training sites available to our students, and the faculty who make it all possible.

Warm Regards,
Mel Rosenfeld, PhD
Senior Associate Dean for Medical Education
mel.rosenfeld@nyumc.org

Office of Medical Education Faculty and Staff

The faculty and administrative staff of NYU School of Medicine’s Office of Medical Education manage all aspects of the undergraduate medical curriculum, including curriculum development, implementation, and assessment.

Office of Medical Education Administration

Mel Rosenfeld, PhD
Senior Associate Dean for Medical Education
Associate Professor, Department of Cell Biology
mel.rosenfeld@nyumc.org

Vicky Harnik, PhD
Associate Dean for Curriculum
Assistant Professor, Department of Cell Biology
victoria.harnik@nyumc.org

Rhonda Acholonu, MD
Associate Dean for Diversity and Academic Affairs 
Assistant Professor, Department of Pediatrics
rhonda.graves@nyumc.org

Kristi-Jo Tutela-Dane, JD
Director
kristi-jo.tutela-dane@nyumc.org

Erica Torres
Administrative Coordinator
erica.torres@nyumc.org

Office of Medical Education Team

Deirdre Apicello, MPA
Program Manager, Practice of Medicine
deirdre.apicello@nyumc.org

Romeo Arceo
National Board of Medical Examiners Executive Chief Proctor and Body Donation Program Coordinator
romeo.arceo@nyumc.org

Brielle Blatt
Project Associate, Practice of Medicine
brielle.blatt@nyumc.org

Robert Boyd
Senior Project Coordinator, Lottery and Exams Administration
robert.boyd@nyumc.org

Danielle Cacciatore
Project Associate, Clerkship Evaluations and Interclerkship Intensives Assistant
danielle.cacciatore@nyumc.org

Caroline Cedzidlo
Project Associate, Practice of Medicine
caroline.cedzidlo@nyumc.org

Kyle Durrant
Project Associate, Honors Program Coordinator
kyle.durrant@nyumc.org

Lauren Eisner
Project Associate, Preclerkship Curriculum, Credentialing, and Selective Evaluations
lauren.eisner@nyumc.org

Ashley Falzone, MS
Senior Project Coordinator, Interclerkship Intensives and the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Disease Summer Research Fellowship
ashley.falzone@nyumc.org

Terrance Fell
Associate Research Technician
terrance.fell@nyumc.org

Carolyn Holmes
Senior Project Coordinator, Academic Calendar and Scheduling Administration
carolyn.holmes@nyumc.org

George Lew
Research Technician
george.lew@nyumc.org

Takeya Patterson
Project Associate, Concentrations and Honors Program Assistant
takeya.patterson@nyumc.org

Jean-Pierre Simon, PhD
Assistant Professor, Education Specialist, and National Board of Medical Examiners Chief Proctor
jean-pierre.simon@nyumc.org

Contact Us

For questions about the undergraduate medical curriculum, contact us at 212-263-0748. You can also fax us at 646-502-6826. We are located at 550 First Avenue in the Medical Science Building.