Shelf Exam Schedule for MD Students

MD Registration & Student Records at NYU School of Medicine Shelf Exam Schedule for MD Students
Shelf Exam Schedule for MD Students

During stage two of the MD curriculum, you take shelf exams. The results of these tests measure your understanding of specific instructions and hands-on experiences covered in the core clerkships—the clinical rotations that help you transition from classroom studies to patient care.

Shelf exams for medicine, neurology, obstetrics and gynecology, pediatrics, psychiatry, and surgery occur on the following dates throughout the academic year. You should follow the exam schedule that works with your clerkship palette.

Winter Shelf Exam Schedule 2018 

Friday, January 26, 2018: neurology
Monday, February 12, 2018: obstetrics and gynecology, pediatrics, psychiatry, and surgery
Friday, February 23, 2018: neurology
Monday, March 26, 2018: medicine, neurology, obstetrics and gynecology, pediatrics, psychiatry, surgery

Spring Shelf Exam Schedule 2018

Friday, April 27, 2018: neurology
Monday, May 14, 2018: obstetrics and gynecology, surgery, psychiatry, pediatrics
Friday, May 25, 2018: neurology
Monday, June 25, 2018: medicine, neurology, obstetrics and gynecology, pediatrics, psychiatry, surgery

Summer Shelf Exam Schedule 2018

Friday, July 27, 2018: neurology
Monday, August 13, 2018: obstetrics and gynecology, surgery, psychiatry, pediatrics
Friday, August 24, 2018: neurology
Monday, September 24, 2018: medicine, neurology, obstetrics and gynecology, pediatrics, psychiatry, surgery

Fall Shelf Exam Schedule 2018

Friday, October 26, 2018: neurology
Monday, November 12, 2018: obstetrics and gynecology, surgery, psychiatry, pediatrics
Monday, November 26, 2018: neurology
Friday, December 21, 2018: medicine, neurology, obstetrics and gynecology, pediatrics, psychiatry, surgery