Dr. Edward Fisher Honored As George Lyman Duff Memorial Lecturer

The Society for the Study of Arteriosclerosis established this lecture in 1956 in memory of Dr. George Lyman Duff, a founding member and past president of the original society.  Dr. Duff was one of Canada's most distinguished pathologists and medical educators.  This award is among the most longstanding and prestigious of the American Heart Association awards.  

The Duff Memorial Award Lecture will consist of 3 short stories.  In the first, new developments will be presented on how the production of very low density lipoproteins (VLDL, which become LDL)  by the liver is controlled by the degradation of their apolipoprotein B (apoB) component. In particular, our recent results have shown that insulin and niacin, two medically relevant regulators of the plasma levels of VLDL, utilize a process called autophagy to accomplish this. In the second, recent studies on the regression of atherosclerosis in novel mouse models will be presented. Specifically, I will show that to get rid of the cholesterol-filled disease-causing cells from the arterial plaques, new, healthy, monocytes need to be recruited from the circulation. In the third story, the use of natural and synthetic nanoparticles to carry imaging and therapeutic agents directly to atherosclerotic plaques will be presented.

Dr. Edward A. Fisher, the recipient of this award, is the Leon H. Charney Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine at the New York University (NYU) School of Medicine. At NYU, he directs both the Marc and Ruti Bell Program in Vascular Biology and the Center for the Prevention of Cardiovascular Disease.  His MD is from NYU and he received clinical training at Duke and Harvard. He also holds a PhD from MIT in biochemistry and nutrition (working under Dr. Jan Breslow) and completed a fellowship in molecular biology at the NIH.

Dr. Fisher's research program focuses on lipoprotein metabolism and atherosclerosis. He and his colleagues have discovered major pathways by which the degradation of apoprotein B regulates VLDL production, have developed models of atherosclerosis regression that have re-vitalized this area, and have adapted HDL particles to carry imaging agents and therapeutics into atherosclerotic plaques. He is also an active practitioner in preventive cardiology with a particular interest in lipid risk factors. 

He has published over 150 peer-reviewed research articles, as well as reviews and book chapters on both research and clinical topics.  His expertise is further reflected by his serving on the editorial boards of the Journal of Clinical Investigation, the Journal of Lipid Research, the Journal of Biological Chemistry, and his service as Associate Editor, then Editor in Chief, of the AHA journal, Arteriosclerosis, Thrombosis, and Vascular Biology. He has also chaired the Gordon and Keystone Conferences in atherosclerosis. 

He has a number of honors, including membership in Alpha Omega Alpha and the American Association of Physicians, the Solomon A. Berson Award in Basic Science Research Achievement (NYU), and a Special Recognition Award (AHA/ATVB Council) for contributions to arteriosclerosis research. In 2007, he was an American College of Cardiology Visiting Professor of Preventive Cardiology at the University of Virginia and from 2010-2011 he was the George Eastman Professor at Oxford University and a fellow of Balliol College.