Division of Medical Ethics Faculty & Staff | NYU Langone Health

Skip to Main Content
Division of Medical Ethics Division of Medical Ethics Faculty & Staff

Division of Medical Ethics Faculty & Staff

Faculty and staff in the Division of Medical Ethics come from departments across NYU Langone and NYU, as well as from other institutions. Together, we work to address moral and practical issues in all aspects of healthcare and biotechnology to ensure that patients are treated justly and humanely.

Division Faculty and Staff

Arthur L. Caplan, PhD
Division Director
The Drs. William F. and Virginia Connolly Mitty Professor of Bioethics, Department of Population Health
Arthur.Caplan@NYULangone.org

Alison Bateman-House, PhD, MPH, MA
Assistant Professor, Department of Population Health
Alison.Bateman-House@NYULangone.org

Akira Akabayashi, MD, PhD
Research Professor, Department of Population Health
Professor, Department of Biomedical Ethics, University of Tokyo Graduate School of Medicine

Laura L. Kimberly, PhD, MSW, MBE
Assistant Professor, Hansjörg Wyss Department of Plastic Surgery and Department of Population Health

Kellie N. Owens, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Population Health
Kellie.Owens@NYULangone.org

Brendan Parent, JD
Director, Transplant Ethics and Policy Research
Assistant Professor, Departments of Population Health and Surgery
Brendan.Parent@NYULangone.org

Lauren Taylor, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Population Health
Lauren.Taylor@NYULangone.org

Alen Agaronov, ScD
Postdoctoral Fellow
Alen.Agaronov@NYULangone.org

Zachary Griffen, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
Zachary.Griffen@NYULangone.org

Tamar Schiff, MD
Postdoctoral Fellow
Tamar.Schiff2@NYULangone.org

Lisa Kearns, MS, MA
Senior Research Associate
Lisa.Kearns@NYULangone.org

Jessica Wico
Program Manager
Jessica.Wico@NYULangone.org

Cara Hunt, MA
Program Coordinator
Cara.Hunt@NYULangone.org

Nathaniel Mamo
Program Coordinator
Nathaniel.Mamo@NYULangone.org

John Massarelli
Program Coordinator, Working Group on Compassionate Use and Preapproval Access
John.Massarelli@NYULangone.org

Lena Milam
Program Coordinator
Lena.Milam@NYULangone.org

Ayden Eilmus
Project Associate
Ayden.Eilmus@NYULangone.org

Amanda Zink, JD, MBE
Research Associate
Amanda.Zink@NYULangone.org

Affiliates, Appointed Faculty, and Associates

David J. Alfandre, MD, MPH
Associate Professor, Departments of Medicine and Population Health

Jeffrey T. Berger, MD
Chief, Division of Palliative Medicine and Director of Clinical Ethics, NYU Langone Hospital—Long Island

Kenneth A. Berkowitz, MD, FCCP
Associate Professor, Departments of Medicine and Population Health

Carolyn R. Chapman, PhD, MS
Faculty Affiliate, Division of Medical Ethics, Department of Population Health

Moshe M. Cohn, MD, HEC-C
Faculty Affiliate, Division of Medical Ethics, Department of Population Health

Catherine Constable, MD
Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine

Cansu Yuksel Elgin, MD
Associate Research Scientist, Department of Ophthalmology

Kyle E. Ferguson, PhD
Assistant Professor of Philosophy, Hunter College, CUNY

Steven P. Field, MD
Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine

Linda Granowetter, MD
Professor, Department of Pediatrics

Cláudia Hirawat
Owner and Executive Chair, VOZ Advisors

Lee Igel, PhD, EdM
Clinical Professor, NYU Preston Robert Tisch Institute for Global Sport

Dale Jamieson, PhD, MA
Professor Emeritus of Environmental Studies
Affiliated Professor of Medical Ethics
Director, Center for Environmental and Animal Protection

Athmeya Jayaram, PhD
Visiting Scholar

Timothy W. Kirk, PhD
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Department of Population Health

Stephen R. Latham, PhD, JD
Director, Yale Interdisciplinary Center for Bioethics
Senior Lecturer, Political Science and Management, Yale University School of Management

Barron H. Lerner, MD
Professor, Departments of Medicine and Population Health

Macey L. Levan, JD, PhD
Associate Professor, Departments of Surgery and Population Health

Herb Leventer, PhD
Adjunct Assistant Professor in Philosophy, Yeshiva University

Ariane K. Lewis, MD
Associate Professor, Departments of Neurology and Neurosurgery

S. Matthew Liao, DPhil
Director of the Center for Bioethics and Arthur Zitrin Professor of Bioethics, NYU College of Global Public Health

Matthew C. Lin, MD
Assistant Professor, Department of Pediatrics, Division of Neonatology
Pediatric Advanced Care Team

Joseph Lowy, MD
Director, Palliative Care, NYU Langone Health
Clinical Professor, Department of Medicine

Jennifer E. Miller, PhD
Founder, Bioethics International
Assistant Professor, Yale University School of Medicine

Kenneth I. Moch, MBA
President, Euclidean Life Science Advisors, LLC

Carolyn P. Neuhaus, PhD
Research Scholar, The Hastings Center

Anna Nolan, MD
Professor, Department of Medicine

Ivan Oransky, MD
Distinguished Writer in Residence, Arthur L. Carter Journalism Institute

David M. Oshinsky, PhD
Director, Division of Medical Humanities
Professor, Department of Medicine

Gwendolyn P. Quinn, PhD
The Livia S. Wan, MD, Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Professor, Department of Population Health

Barbara Redman, PhD, MBE
Associate, Department of Population Health

Jane L. Rosenthal, MD
Clinical Associate Professor, Departments of Psychiatry and Population Health

William Ruddick, PhD
Professor Emeritus, Departments of Philosophy and Bioethics, NYU

Michael E. Schatman, PhD
Clinical Instructor, Department of Anesthesiology, Perioperative Care, and Pain Medicine

Jeff Sebo, PhD
Clinical Assistant Professor of Environmental Studies, NYU Arts and Science

Charles Seife, MS
Professor, NYU Arthur L. Carter Journalism Institute

Lesha D. Shah, MD
Assistant Professor, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Joanne Waldstreicher, MD
Independent Director, Boards of Becton Dickinson and Structure Therapeutics