Division of Neonatology | NYU Langone Health

Skip to Main Content
Department of Pediatrics Divisions Division of Neonatology

Division of Neonatology

Experts in the Division of Neonatology at NYU Langone Health manage critically ill newborns at three neonatal intensive care units (NICU): the NICU at Tisch Hospital, part of Hassenfeld Children’s Hospital at NYU Langone; the NICU at NYC Health + Hospitals/Bellevue; and the NICU at NYU Langone Hospital—Brooklyn. The NICUs at Tisch Hospital and Bellevue are Level IV NICUs designated by New York State as a Regional Perinatal Center for newborns with complications resulting from premature birth or other causes and provide treatment for infants from other hospitals in the tristate area. The NICU at NYU Langone Hospital—Brooklyn is a state-designated Level II NICU. The clinical teams at all locations work seamlessly to care for their patients.

The division’s faculty work together to advance the field of neonatology through research and education. Investigators conduct basic science and clinical research to broaden the understanding of conditions that affect neonates, to improve existing treatments and develop new ones. Educators train fellows, residents, and medical students to care for infants, instilling a deep understanding of their unique set of physical and emotional challenges.

Division Leadership

Pradeep N. Mally, MD
Director, Division of Neonatology

Robert M. Angert, MD
Director, Neonatology Fellowship

Erin L. Cicalese, MD
Associate Director, Neonatology Fellowship

Purnahamsi V. Desai, MD
Medical Director, NICU at Tisch Hospital

Bgee Kunjumon, MD
Medical Director, NICU at NYU Langone Hospital—Brooklyn

Sourabh Verma, MD
Associate Medical Director, NICU at Tisch Hospital

Elena V. Wachtel, MD
Medical Director, NICU at Bellevue
Associate Director, Division of Neonatology

Lauren Paletti, MPA
Division Administrator

Division Faculty

Robert M. Angert, MD
Sean M. Bailey, MD
Martha C. Caprio, MD
Erin L. Cicalese, MD
Purnahamsi V. Desai, MD
Sarah A. Fleishaker, MD
Heather B. Howell, MD
Sadaf Kazmi, MD
Bgee Kujumon, MD
Matthew C. Lin, MD
Moi Louie, MD
Rishi M. Lumba, MD
Pradeep N. Mally, MD
Juan I. Remon, MD
Michelle J. Vaz, MD
Sourabh Verma, MD
Elena V. Wachtel, MD