Recent News from the Institute

To suggest new items for this page, please send us an email. Please also view our News Archive for earlier awards and achievements from our community.

Three Neuroscience Institute scientists, Adrien Peyrache, Polyxeni Philippidou, and Lucas Sjulson, win Pathway to Independence Awards from the NIH - 4/16/14

Nicholas Stavropoulos, of the Neuroscience Institute, and Roozbeh Kiani, of the Center for Neural Science, awarded fellowships from the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation - 2/18/14

NYULMC’s Steven J. Burden, PhD, and Oliver Sacks, MD, and NYU CNS's Eric Klann, PhD, Elected 2013 Fellows of American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) - 11/23/13

Danny Reinberg, PhD, Elected Member of Prestigious Institute of Medicine - 10/21/13

Drs. Jonathan Viventi, Robert Froemke, Michael Long, Dan Sanes, and Bijan Pesaran win NYU "Grand Challenge" science competition. - 9/23/13

Learning to smell: Donald Wilson at TEDxLeuven Salon: The Senses - 9/24/13

The fall 2013 issue of NYU Physician highlights the new Concussion Center and NYU neuroscientists - 9/18/13

Applications for Leon Levy Neuroscience Fellowship Program at NYU Langone Medical Center due September 16 - 8/14/13

Researchers Discover New Way to Block Inflammation in Alzheimer’s, Atherosclerosis and Type-2 Diabetes.- 7/16/13

Dr. Rodolfo Llinas Presented Cajal Award by Queen Sofia of Spain.- 6/26/13

Dayu Lin, Assistant Professor in the NYU Neuroscience Institute, named a 2013 McKnight Scholar.- 5/30/13

Drs. Dmitry Rinberg and Nicholas Stavropoulos named 2013 Whitehall Foundation Fellows.- 5/30/13

Director of NYU Center for Neural Science, J. Anthony Movshon, awarded 2013 Karl Spencer Lashley Award.- 5/30/13

Drs. David Heeger and Joseph LeDoux elected to the National Academy of Sciences - 5/1/13

Jacqueline A. French, M.D. Receives the Epilepsy Foundation's 2013 Hero of Epilepsy Award - 4/23/13

The Master Scholars Program in Humanistic Medicine hosts "Physicians as Writers: Oliver Sacks in Conversation with Danielle Ofri."- 4/3/13

Graduate students in the Sackler Neuroscience and Physiology program honored by NSF. Christopher Wilson named 2013 Graduate Research Fellow and Abba Leffler receives Honorable Mention - 3/29/13

NYU Langone Launches Comprehensive Concussion Center - 3/20/13

Dayu Lin, PhD, Named to Prestigious Sloan Research Fellowship - 3/08/13

School of Medicine on the Rise in U.S. News & World Report Rankings- 3/05/13

Dr. Charles Hoeffer named the 2013 winner of the Blas Frangione Young Investigator Merit Award.- 3/04/13

NYU Neuroscience to host Community Brain Fair and other events as part of Brain Awareness Week- 3/01/13

Dr. Richard Tsien, Director of the Neuroscience Institute, discusses Obama's push for brain research with WNYC.- 2/22/13

Save the date for a symposium honoring Dr. Rodolfo Llinas: September 10, 2013- 2/8/13

Winter 2012-2013 Issue of NYU Physician Features Neuroscience Institute Scientists- 1/8/13

Jacqueline A. French, MD, Named President of American Epilepsy Society- 12/3/12

University Professor Rodolfo Llinás, MD, PhD, Awarded Gold Medal from the Spanish National Research Council (CSIC)- 11/30/12

Jeremy Dasen, PhD, and Colleagues Describe the Genetic Signature of a Vital Set of Neurons  -11/29/12

Richard Tsien, Director of the Neuroscience Institute, awarded 2012 Julius Axelrod Prize -10/13/12

Dayu Lin, PhD, receives the 2012 Janett Rosenberg Trubatch Career Development Award -10/13/12

NYULMC Collaborates on Groundbreaking International Initiative to Advance Autism Research- 9/24/12

Oliver Sacks, MD, neurologist and renowned author, has been appointed clinical professor of neurology at NYULMC -9/14/12

Professor Danny Reinberg leads 2012 HHMI Collaborative Innovation Award team -9/6/12

Skirball Institute faculty member Dr. Niels Ringstad receives a 2012 Presidential Early Career Awards for Scientists and Engineers - 7/31/12

Dr. Moses Chao of NYU's Skirball Institute is a guest on NPR's Science Friday- 7/23/12

Dr. Charles Hoeffer Awarded a 2012 NYU Whitehead Fellowship- 7/11/12

Dr. Michael Long Named a 2012 Rita Allen Foundation Scholar– 6/1/12

Dr. Michael Long Awarded a Klingenstein Fellowship– 5/14/12

Spring 2012 NYU Physician features Wen-Biao Gan, Dayu Lin, Ralph Nixon, Richard Tsien, and Donald Wilson – 5/4/12

Comprehensive Epilepsy Center Recognized by the NAEC as a Level 4 Epilepsy Center – 4/5/12

Dr. Robert Froemke Awarded an Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Fellowship – 2/17/12

Professor Ralph Nixon Named Chair of the Alzheimer's Association Medical and Scientific Advisory Council – 2/1/12

Salzer Lab Featured in Video Abstract and on the Cover of January's Issue of Neuron – 1/12/12

Professor Wen-Biao Gan Awarded a McKnight Memory and Cognitive Disorders Award – 12/14/11

Dr. Dayu Lin Awarded Whitehall Fellowship – 12/01/11