Educator Community Committees | NYU Langone Health

Skip to Main Content
Educator Community Educator Community Committees

Educator Community Committees

NYU Grossman School of Medicine’s Educator Community comprises several committees to inform our efforts related to faculty development, engagement, peer-mentoring support, and recognition. We also collaborate with identified partners to facilitate educational innovation, research, and scholarship in undergraduate, graduate, and continuing medical education.

Recognition Committee

The goals of the Recognition Committee are as follows:

  • establish formal channels of communication with departmental leadership, specifically the vice chairs for education, to understand current goals and strategies and enhance departmental participation and engagement in recognizing faculty excellence in education
  • investigate and facilitate opportunities to support and recognize educator excellence and achievement, including new awards in those areas
  • proactively identify faculty for educational recognition opportunities such as national or local awards, conferences, etc.
  • participate as reviewers in the annual Educator Community awards process

2022 Recognition Committee

Joan F. Cangiarella, MD, Committee Chair
Jeffrey B. Alpert, MD
Michael M. Ambrosino, MD
Victoria C. Dinsell, MD
Colleen C. Gillespie, PhD
Crystal Mainiero, MPA
Lisa Ng-Zhao
Cynthia J. Osman, MD
Michael Poles, MD, PhD
Joseph E. Ravenell, MD
Melvin G. Rosenfeld, PhD
Verity E. Schaye, MD, MHPE

Vice Chairs for Education Committee

The vice chair for education from each academic department oversees the department’s education mission, including the coordination of faculty and trainees. This oversight includes educational initiatives across the spectrum of activities related to undergraduate medical education (UME), graduate medical education (GME) at both residency and fellowship levels, and professional development such as continuing medical education (CME).

The vice chair fosters an environment that values and promotes educational programs, serving as the chief departmental advocate for investment and improvement in these programs. They also provide oversight, support, direction, coaching, development, and empowerment to a diverse cadre of leaders across our education programs.

2022–23 Vice Chairs for Education Committee

Michael C. Wajda, MD, Department of Anesthesiology, Perioperative Care, and Pain Medicine
Jess P. Shatkin, MD, MPH, Department of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
Selin T. Sagalowsky, MD, Ronald O. Perelman Department of Emergency Medicine
David T. Stern, MD, PhD, Department of Medicine
Koto Ishida, MD, Department of Neurology
Abigail Ford Winkel, MD, MHPE, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology
Kenneth A. Egol, MD, Department of Orthopedic Surgery
Richard A. Lebowitz, MD, Department of Otolaryngology—Head and Neck Surgery
Joan F. Cangiarella, MD, Department of Pathology
Cynthia J. Osman, MD, Department of Pediatrics
Lenard A. Adler, MD, Department of Psychiatry
Nancy R. Fefferman, MD, Department of Radiology
Alex Moroz, MD, MHPE, Department of Rehabilitation Medicine
Russell S. Berman, MD, Department of Surgery
Jamie A. Kanofsky, MD, Department of Urology