Institute for Systems Genetics Faculty & Staff | NYU Langone Health

Skip to Main Content
Institute for Systems Genetics Institute for Systems Genetics Faculty & Staff

Institute for Systems Genetics Faculty & Staff

The Institute for Systems Genetics comprises faculty and staff across multiple departments.

Administration

Our administrators lead a team of faculty, students, and investigators that collaborates with other research and clinical programs at NYU Langone Health and around the world.

Jef Boeke, PhD, Founding Director

Dr. Boeke is best known for his fundamental genetic and biochemical work on mechanisms of transposition in higher cells. He coined the term “retrotransposon.” He is a professor in the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Pharmacology and a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Learn more about Dr. Boeke.

Debbie Bemis, PhD, Executive Director

Dr. Bemis works with our director to set and operationalize the strategic plan for the institute, as well as oversees its administration. She has more than 20 years of experience in basic and translational research, scientific communications, and research administration. Contact Dr. Bemis at debra.bemis@nyulangone.org.

Nakisha Davis, MPA, Senior Program Coordinator

Ms. Davis oversees and coordinates administrative procedures, including special events, communications, the wellness initiative, and the faculty recruitment program. She holds a master's degree in public administration and joined us in November 2013. Contact Ms. Davis at nakisha.davis@nyulangone.org.

Kate Katsnelson, MBA, Assistant Director of Finance

Kate oversees the pre- and post-award activity for the institute. She started at NYU Langone in 2010 and worked in the central finance department for three years as well as Perlmutter Cancer Center for six years prior to joining us. She earned her bachelor’s degree from Ural State University in Russia and her MBA from Baruch College. Contact Ms. Katsnelson at kate.katsnelson@nyulangone.org.

Julie Oaks, Administrative Manager

Ms. Oaks supports administrative procedures including human resources and compliance. She also oversees the grant application process and serves as a liaison between the institute and Sponsored Program Administration. Contact Ms. Oaks at julie.oaks@nyulangone.org.

Meghan O’Keefe, MS, Executive Assistant

Ms. O’Keefe primarily supports Dr. Boeke in his role as director of the institute and works closely with our administrative leadership on daily operations and special initiatives. She earned her MS in nonprofit management from the New School and an undergraduate degree from Muhlenberg College. Contact Ms. O’Keefe at meghan.o'keefe@nyulangone.org.

Teddy Shin, Senior Financial Analyst

Mr. Shin manages our financial ledgers, procurement, and reporting. Prior to joining the institute, he monitored and reported on postaward grant activities for the NYU Langone research finance department. He is a lifelong New Yorker and business professional who earned his bachelor’s degree in finance from Baruch College. Contact Mr. Shin at teddy.shin@nyulangone.org.

Core Faculty

""

Jef Boeke, PhD

Institute Founder and Director
Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Pharmacology
Research interests: mechanism of retrotransposition in eukaryotes and redesigning and synthesizing entire eukaryotic chromosomes

""

Aravinda Chakravarti, PhD

Director, Center for Human Genetics and Genomics
Professor, Departments of Medicine and Neuroscience and Physiology
Research interests: molecular basis of human disease, gene regulatory networks, and human population genomics

""

Teresa Davoli, PhD

Assistant Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Pharmacology
Research interests: understanding the causes and consequences of genomic instability (with a focus on aneuploidy) in cancer and cell physiology

""

Gilad Evrony, MD, PhD

Assistant Professor, Department of Pediatrics, Department of Neuroscience and Physiology, and the Center for Human Genetics and Genomics
Research interests: genetics of brain development, function, and disease; technology development for neuroscience; precision medicine

""

David Fenyö, PhD

Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Pharmacology
Research interests: proteomic data analysis and developing methods and databases for protein identification, characterization, and quantitation using mass spectrometry–based technologies

""

Liam Holt, PhD

Associate Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Pharmacology
Research interests: how mechanical compression and molecular crowding affect cell biology and drive diseases like cancer, aging, and neurodegeneration

""

Timothee Lionnet, PhD

Assistant Professor, Department of Cell biology
Research interests: understanding how gene expression works, focusing mainly on its first step, transcription—the synthesis of mRNA from a gene encoded in DNA

""

Matthew Maurano, PhD

Assistant Professor, Department of Pathology
Research interests: genomics of gene expression and genetics of human disease

""

Marcus Noyes, PhD

Assistant Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Pharmacology
Research interests: characterization and manipulation of protein–ligand interactions

""

Kelly V. Ruggles, PhD

Assistant Professor, Division of Translational Medicine, Department of Medicine
Research interests: multi-omic data integration, data visualization, application and development of computational and statistical methods to analyze genomic, transcriptomic, translatomic, proteomic, metabolomic, and microbiome data to inform cancer, inflammation, and cardiovascular disease

Affiliated Faculty

Thales Papagiannakopoulos, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Pathology

Neville Sanjana, PhD
Assistant Professor, NYU Department of Biology

Rahul Satija, DPhil
Assistant Professor, NYU Department of Biology

Beatrix Ueberheide, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Pharmacology

Christine Vogel, PhD
Professor, NYU Department of Biology

Postdoctoral Fellows

Sana Badri, PhD—Ruggles Labs
Research interests: biomedical informatics education and transcriptional regulatory mechanisms in blood cancers
sana.badri@nyulangone.org

Amit Bhardwaj, PhD—Fenyö Lab
Research interests: generation and characterization of an encyclopedia of the secretome of murine and human adipocytes
amit.bhardwaj2@nyulangone.org

Joy Bianchi, PhD—Davoli Lab
Research interests: understanding the control of genome stability in health and disease and the impact of copy number alterations on cancer immune evasion
joy.bianchi@nyulangone.org

Martina Bonucci, PhD—Holt Lab
Research interests: investigating molecular crowding in neural cells and defining molecular crowding role in neurodegeneration
martina.bonucci@nyulangone.org

Lance Denes, PhD—Holt and Lionnet Labs
Research interests: investigating the interplay between cellular mechanics and gene expression
lance.denes@nyulangone.org

Ryan Fine, PhD—Chakravarti Lab
Research interests: effects of pathogenic non-coding genetic variation in human disease; genetic causes of variation in penetrance
ryan.fine@nyulangone.org

Makiha Fukuda, PhD—Boeke Lab
Research interests: synthesizing RNA-based chromosomes in yeast
makiha.fukuda@nyulangone.org

Gregory Goldberg, PhD—Noyes Lab
Research interests: engineering CRISPR-Cas systems to facilitate the remodeling of genomes and gene regulatory circuits
gregory.goldberg@nyulangone.org

Marta Gronska-Peski, PhD—Evrony Lab
Research interests: somatic mutation processes in the brain
marta.gronska-peski@nyulangone.org

Adam Johnson, PhD—Davoli Lab
Research interests: understanding the effects of aneuploidy and gene copy number variation on cancer and development
adam.johnson@nyulangone.org

Gururaj Rao Kidiyoor, PhD—Holt Lab
Research interest: investigating physiological and pathological role of nuclear crowding in normal and cancer cells
gururajrao.kidiyoor@nyulangone.org

Stephanie Lauer, PhD—Boeke Lab
Research interests: using synthetic genomes to understand evolutionary processes
stephanie.lauer@nyulangone.org

Luciana Lazar Stefanita, PhD—Boeke Lab
Research interests: structural plasticity of eukaryotic genomes
luciana.lazarstefanita@nyulangone.org

Zhi Li, PhD—Fenyö Lab
Research interests: improving the quality of peptide identification using bioinformatics tools and modeling
zhi.li@nyulangone.org

Susan Liao, PhD—Boeke Lab
Research interests: post-transcriptional regulation of gene expression in development
susan.liao@nyulangone.org

Feiyue Lu, PhD—Lionnet Lab
Research interests: in vivo live imaging of transcription regulation
feiyue.lu@nyulangone.org

Wilson McKerrow, PhD—Fenyö Lab
Research interests: bioinformatic analysis of transposable elements broadly and LINE-1 specifically
wilson.mckerrow@nyulangone.org

Teesta Naskar, PhD—Chakravarti Lab
Research interests: genetic predisposition of neurodevelopmental disorders in multiplex families
teesta.naskar@nyulangone.org

Gudjón Ólafsson, PhD—Boeke Lab
Research interests: using humanized yeast to uncover mechanisms of human chromosome segregation
gudjon.olafsson@nyulangone.org

Raquel Ordonez Ciriza, PhD—Maurano Lab
Research interests: deciphering genetic and epigenetic mechanisms that generate cellular identities and pathological phenotypes
raquel.ordonezciriza@nyulangone.org

André M. Ribeiro dos Santos, PhD—Maurano Lab
Research interests: understanding the genomics of gene expression and human diseases through the development of bioinformatics tools and statistical analysis
andre.ribeirodossantos@nyulangone.org

Dajun Sang, PhD—Holt Lab
Research interests: using ancestral resurrection to understand kinase regulation and decode cancer mutations
dajun.sang@nyulangone.org

Shivanjali Saxena, PhD—Holt Lab
Research interests: investigating signaling pathways associated with the impact of pathological physical factors within glioblastoma microenvironment
shivanjali.saxena@nyulangone.org

Tong Shu, PhD—Holt Lab
Research interests: understanding the biophysical mechanisms of molecular crowding within cell influencing cellular processes
tong.shu@nyulangone.org

Or Yaacov, MD—Chakravarti Lab
Research interests: population genetics and genomics, large-scale biobanks, and electronic medical records research
or.yaacov@nyulangone.org

Ying Xie, PhD—Holt Lab
Research interests: how cellular biophysical property and proteins are remodeled in quiescent cells
ying.xie@nyulangone.org

Weimin Zhang, PhD—Boeke Lab
Research interests: stabilizing and engineering the genome in haploid mouse embryonic stem cells
weimin.zhang@nyulangone.org

Xin Zhao, PhD—Davoli Lab
Research interests: somatic mutation and copy number alterations in cancer genomics
xin.zhao@nyulangone.org

Yu Zhao, PhD—Boeke Lab
Research interests: building the eukaryotic cells with synthetic genomes and engineering to understand biology
yu.zhao@nyulangone.org

Scientific Staff

Dania Annuar—Davoli Lab
Assistant Research Technician
dania.annuar@nyulangone.org

Hannah Ashe—Maurano Lab
Assistant Research Technician
hannah.ashe@nyulangone.org

Maria Bahamon—Boeke Lab
Student Intern
maria.bahamon@nyulangone.org

Ran Brosh, PhD—Maurano Lab
Senior Research Scientist
ran.brosh@nyulangone.org

Ze Chen—Ruggles Lab
Research Associate
ze.chen@nyulangone.org

Finnegan Clark—Lionnet Lab
Research Associate
finnegan.clark@nyulangone.org

Camila Coelho—Boeke Lab
Assistant Research Technician
camila.coelho@nyulangone.org

Nicole Easo—Boeke Lab
Assistant Research Technician
nicole.easo@nyulangone.org

Gwen Ellis—Maurano Lab
Research Associate
gwen.ellis@nyulangone.org

Sabrina George—Fenyö and Ruggles Labs
Research Associate
sabrina.george@nyulangone.org

Sergei German, MS
Senior Architect, Solution Development
sergei.german@nyulangone.org

Courtney Gionco—Davoli Lab
Research Associate
courtney.gionco@nyulangone.org

Cindy Hernandez—Holt Lab
Assistant Research Technician
cindy.hernandez@nyulangone.org

Jillian Hornbeck—Noyes Lab
Research Associate
jillian.hornbeck@nyulangone.org

Sarah Keegan—Fenyö Lab
Scientific Programmer
sarah.keegan@nyulangone.org

Manjunatha Kogenaru, PhD—Noyes Lab
Senior Research Scientist
manjunatha.kogenaru@nyulangone.org

Wenke Liu, PhD—Fenyö Lab
Research Scientist
wenke.liu@nyulangone.org

Sally Mei—Davoli Lab
Research Associate
sally.mei2@nyulangone.org

Angela Mermerian—Davoli Lab
Assistant Research Scientist
angela.mermerian@nyulangone.org

Aleksandra Wudzinska, MPhil—Boeke Lab
Lab Supervisor
aleksandra.wudzinska@nyulangone.org

Sandy Yang—Boeke Lab
Student Intern
sandy.yang@nyulangone.org

Yinan (Florrie) Zhu—Boeke Lab
Assistant Research Technician
yinan.zhu@nyulangone.org