Research Opportunities

Infectious Diseases resident at laboratory bench.

We are fully committed to house officers who want to pursue basic, translational, or clinical research during their residency training. These scholarly activities may be pursued on an intensive consolidated basis in which the elective time of the second and third years of training is “bundled” into a consolidated period during the PGY-2 year of the program or in a spaced out manner, during selected elective months. All house officers participate in a comprehensive professional career development program that begins for incoming interns prior to the formal start of the residency program followed by specialty-specific advising and scholarly research mentoring.

Residents are expected to participate in a scholarly endeavor during the course of their residency and are encouraged to pursue research projects with one of the many qualified faculty members at NYU Langone Medical Center. To assist them in achieving this goal, all PGY-2 residents participate in a 2 week core curricular research block that is designed to expose them to the basics of research methodology and to meaningful mentoring by experienced members of the research faculty. This block is anchored by the development of a research protocol by small teams of residents who meet frequently with a faculty member. These meetings are complemented by a series of lectures (both live and on-line) covering topics such as: designing a research question, subjects and sampling, hypothesis testing, and presenting data.

At the conclusion of the 2 week block, the resident teams are expected to present their protocols to their peers and the faculty. The goal of this block is to provide residents with the basic tools needed to successfully pursue research projects within the time constraints of a busy residency schedule and to build mentoring relationships between the trainees and faculty members.

Physician Scientist Research Program

Designed for those individuals who have a clear commitment to a career in research, residency training in internal medicine is condensed from three years to two so that the individual can enter or re-enter the laboratory or research environment early. Those who take part are expected to complete a fellowship and continue to pursue their academic interests within that specialty area.

Clinician Investigator Track

This 3-year categorical track is intended for those applicants interested in a translational research career. In addition to many of the elements of our outstanding clinical training, residents in this track will be sponsored to complete certification in the CTSI Intrepid Program – with credits applicable to a Masters Degree in Clinical Investigation. Paired with clinical research mentors, these residents will engage with our research faculty early and continuously through the training program.

For Residents

Scholarly activity is defined by four main elements: discovery, integration, application, and teaching. It encompasses a wide array of academic pursuits, from basic science lab work to clinical trials, quality improvement projects, retrospective reviews and case reports.

To assist in finding a research mentor early in your training, a meeting will be held during pre-residency orientation with residency and fellowship program directors to discuss a pathway to success in scholarly activity. At this meeting, incoming interns can ask any questions they might have about how to find a mentor, how to successfully navigate research at a new institution, etc.

As intern year progresses, a series of meetings will be held during “+2” time. At each of these meetings, several NYU fellowship directors from various disciplines will be present to give their view on what makes a fellowship candidate successful. They will also answer questions on who in their Division might be appropriate as a research mentor, in order to help set residents on a successful pathway to fellowship.

All interns will be assigned an advisor who will help them navigate the intricacies of a busy academic medical center to find a mentor best suited to their interests. Each resident will meet with their advisor at least twice a year, to solicit their advice and provide updates on any scholarly endeavors. This mentorship process will then transition between the PGY-1 and PGY-2 academic years into the specialty of choice, whereby residents who are interested are subspecializing will begin meeting with the fellowship program director to receive directed guidance within their chosen field.

While we strive to provide you with the support needed to be successful in scholarly pursuits, we ask each resident to take an active role and search for a mentor whose work might fit with their interests. NYU has compiled a list of investigators who are active in each Division. Please review the current offerings and if an investigator’s area of study aligns with your interests, please email them to set up a meeting. Make sure you ‘cc our Vice Chair for Research, Dr. Glenn Fishman (glenn.fishman@nyumc.org), on each email.

http://www.med.nyu.edu/medicine/research/research-investigators

Below are the names and contact information of Directors and the designated research contact person in each Division within the Department of Medicine.

Division Division Director Contact Person
Leon H. Charney Division of Cardiology Dr. Glenn Fishman
Glenn.Fishman@nyumc.org
(212) 263 - 3967
Dr. Eugene Kim
Eugene.Kim@nyumc.org
(212) 263-4136
Endocrinology, Diabetes, & Metabolism Dr. Ira Goldberg
Ira.Goldberg@nyumc.org
Dr. Ann Marie Schmidt
AnnMarie.Schmidt@nyumc.org
(212) 263 - 9444
Gastroenterology Dr. Mark Pochapin
Mark.Pochapin@nyumc.org
(646) 501 – 6760
Dr. Ilseung Cho
Ilseung.Cho@nyumc.org
General Internal Medicine & Clinical Innovation Dr. Sondra Zabar
Sondra.Zabar@nyumc.org
(212) 263 - 1138
Dr. Jennifer Adams
Jennifer.Adams@nyumc.org
(212) 263-8895
Geriatric Medicine & Palliative Care Dr. Caroline Blaum
Caroline.Blaum@nyumc.org
(646) 501 – 2325
Dr. Caroline Blaum
Caroline.Blaum@nyumc.org
(646) 501 – 2325
Hematology & Medical Oncology Dr. Kwok-Kin Wong
Kwok-kin.Wong@nyumc.org
(212) 731-5662
Dr. Lawrence Gardner
Lawrence.Gardner@nyumc.org
(212) 263-8038
Infectious Disease & Immunology Dr. Joel Ernst
Joel.Ernst@nyumc.org
(212) 263 – 6565
Dr. Joel Ernst
Joel.Ernst@nyumc.org
(212) 263 – 6565
Medical Humanities Dr. David Oshinsky
David.Oshinsky@nyumc.org
Dr. David Oshinsky
David.Oshinsky@nyumc.org
Nephrology Dr. Edward Skolnik
Edward.Skolnik@med.nyu.edu
(212) 263 - 5851
Dr. Edward Skolnik
Edward.Skolnik@med.nyu.edu
(212) 263 - 5851
Dr. David Goldfarb
david.goldfarb@nyumc.org
Pulmonary, Critical Care, & Sleep Medicine Dr. Daniel Sterman
Daniel.Sterman@nyumc.org
(646) 501-4182
Dr. John Munger
John.Munger@nyumc.org
(212) 263 - 5745
Rheumatology Dr. Jill Buyon
Jill.Buyon@nyumc.org
(212) 263 - 0746
Dr. Michael Pillinger
Michael.pillinger@nyumc.org
(646) 501-2722
Translational Medicine Dr. Bruce Cronstein
Bruce.Cronstein@nyumc.org
(212) 263 - 6404
Dr. Bruce Cronstein
Bruce.Cronstein@nyumc.org
(212) 263 - 6404