Institute for Systems Genetics Faculty & Staff

Institute for Systems Genetics Institute for Systems Genetics Faculty & Staff
Purple hero (default)
Institute for Systems Genetics Institute for Systems Genetics Faculty & Staff

The Institute for Systems Genetics comprises faculty and staff across multiple departments.

Administration

Our administrators lead a team of faculty, students, and investigators that collaborates with other research and clinical programs at NYU Langone Health and around the world.

Jef Boeke, PhD, Founding Director

Dr. Boeke is best known for his fundamental genetic and biochemical work on mechanisms of transposition in higher cells. He coined the term “retrotransposon.” He is a professor in the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Pharmacology and a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Learn more about Dr. Boeke.

Gabrielle Rieckhof, PhD, Executive Director

Dr. Rieckhof, who holds a doctorate in Drosophila genetics and developmental biology from Columbia University in New York City, has worked for more than 27 years in basic research. Her work has spanned virology, developmental genetics, neurobiology, and systems biology.

Nakisha Davis, Program Coordinator

Ms. Davis oversees administrative procedures and faculty recruitment.

Jessica Lorenzo, MPH, Director of Finance

Ms. Lorenzo oversees grants, contracts, funds, and endowment accounts. She previously directed research administration for NYU Langone's Department of Population Health. She earned an undergraduate degree from Cornell University and an MPH with a concentration in community health from NYU.

Julie Oaks, Executive Assistant

Ms. Oaks manages scheduling, human resources, and other administrative responsibilities.

Deji Okusanya, MBA, Administrative Manager

Mr. Okusanya holds a bachelor’s degree in economics and an MBA from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor.

Core Faculty

Jef Boeke, PhD
Institute Founder and Director
Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Pharmacology
Research interests: mechanism of retrotransposition in eukaryotes and redesigning and synthesizing entire eukaryotic chromosomes

David Fenyö, PhD
Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Pharmacology
Research interests: proteomic data analysis and developing methods and databases for protein identification, characterization, and quantitation using mass spectrometry–based technologies

Liam Holt, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Pharmacology
Research interests: how cell cycle control networks rewire during evolution and disease

Timothee Lionnet, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Cell biology
Research interests: understanding how gene expression works, focusing mainly on its first step, transcription—the synthesis of mRNA from a gene encoded in DNA

Matthew Maurano, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Pathology
Research interests: genomics of gene expression and genetics of human disease

Marcus Noyes, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Pharmacology
Research interests: characterization and manipulation of protein–ligand interactions

Affiliated Faculty

Thales Papagiannakopoulos, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Pathology

Kelly V. Ruggles, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine

Neville Sanjana, PhD
Assistant Professor, NYU Department of Biology

Rahul Satija, D. Phil
Assistant Professor, NYU Department of Biology

Beatrix Ueberheide, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Pharmacology

Postdoctoral Fellows

Neta Agmon, PhD
Research interests: yeast and human genetics and engineering neochromosomes using budding yeast as a model system for human disease
neta.agmon@nyumc.org

Keira Bermudez-Hernandez, PhD
Research interests: bioimaging informatics, and developing methods and algorithms to extract biological information from microscopy images
keira.bermudez-hernandez@nyumc.org

Zhi Li, PhD
Research interests: improving the quality of peptide identification using bioinformatics tools and modeling
zhi.li@nyumc.org

Paolo Mita, PhD
Research interests: decoding the transregulation of and the interactions between the LINE-1 retrotransposon and the host cell
paolo.mita@nyumc.org

Leslie Mitchell, PhD
Research interests: eukaryotic chromosome and genome engineering
leslie.mitchell@nyumc.org

Dajun Sang, PhD
Research interests: using ancestral resurrection to understand kinase regulation and decode cancer mutations
dajun.sang@nyumc.org

David Truong, PhD
Research interests: humanization of yeast chromatin and the development of technologies for chromatin macromolecular structure determination
dajun.sang@nyumc.org

Scientific Staff

Henri Berger
Assistant Research Technician
henri.berger@nyumc.org

Mark Grivainis
Scientific Programmer
mark.grivainis@nyumc.org

Megan Hogan
Senior Research Scientist
megan.hogan@nyumc.org

Kailyn Hui
Senior Research Technician
kailynyeeman.hui@nyumc.org

Samson Jacob
Scientific Programmer
samson.jacob@nyumc.org

Sarah Keegan
Scientific Programmer
sarah.keegan@nyumc.org

Jinghong Ma
Assistant Research Scientist
jinghong.ma@nyumc.org

Andrew Martin
Scientific Technologist
andrew.martin@nyumc.org

April Mueller
Research Associate
april.mueller@nyumc.org

Jasmine Temple
Assistant Research Technician
jasmine.temple@nyumc.org

Aleksandra Wudzinska
Research Associate
aleksandra.wudzinska@nyumc.org