Educator Community Awards by Year | NYU Langone Health

Skip to Main Content
Education Awards & Honors Educator Community Awards by Year

Educator Community Awards by Year

The Educator Community honored the following past awardees for their accomplishments. Our awards span both undergraduate medical education (UME) and graduate medical education (GME).

VIDEO: Get to know some of the past recipients of the Educator Community’s awards program.

The Rising Educator Award

Verity E. Schaye, MD, MHPE (2021)
Department of Medicine

Arielle M. Kurzwell, MD (2020)
Department of Neurology

Richard E. Greene, MD, MPHE (2019)
Department of Medicine

Koto Ishida, MD (2018)
Department of Neurology

Margaret R. Horlick, MD (2017)
Department of Medicine

The Excellence in Educational Innovation Award

Jeffrey B. Alpert, MD (2021)
Department of Radiology

Heather B. Howell, MD (2019)
Department of Pediatrics

Donna P. Phillips, MD (2019)
Departments of Orthopedic Surgery and Pediatrics

Ruth M. Crowe, MD, PhD (2018)
Department of Medicine

Amy V. Rapkiewicz, MD (2017)
Department of Pathology

The Excellence in Educational Scholarship Award

Cynthia J. Osman, MD, MS (2021)
Department of Pediatrics

Dennis M. Popeo, MD (2020)
Department of Psychiatry

Alex Moroz, MD, MHPE (2019)
Department of Rehabilitation Medicine

Abigail Ford Winkel, MD, MHPE (2018)
Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Colleen C. Gillespie, PhD (2017)
Department of Medicine

The Distinction in Education Award

Laura J. Balcer, MD (2021)
Departments of Neurology, Population Health, and Ophthalmology

Arthur H. Fierman, MD (2020)

Margret S. Magid, MD (2019)
Department of Pathology

Jeffrey A. Manko, MD (2018)
Ronald O. Perelman Department of Emergency Medicine

Sondra R. Zabar, MD (2017)
Department of Medicine

UME Preclerkship Educator of the Year

Melissa Sum, MD (2021)
Department of Medicine

Kira Melamud, MD (2020)
Department of Radiology

Ludovic P. Desvignes, PhD (2019)
Department of Medicine

UME Clerkship Educator of the Year

Bem L. Atim, MD (2021)
Department of Psychiatry

Victoria C. Dinsell, MD (2021)
Department of Psychiatry

Michael LoCurcio, MD (2020)
Department of Medicine

Ann Y. Lee, MD (2019)
Department of Surgery

GME Program Director of the Year

Russell S. Berman, MD (2021)
Department of Surgery

Michael C. Wajda, MD (2020)
Department of Anesthesiology, Perioperative Care, and Pain Medicine

Cecilia L. Mercado, MD (2019)
Department of Radiology

Excellence in Diversity in Education Award

Christin Drake, MD (2021)
Department of Psychiatry

Renee L. Williams, MD (2020)
Department of Medicine

Basic Medical Sciences Educator of the Year

Kelly V. Ruggles, PhD (2020)
Department of Medicine

Best Medical Education Collaboration

Title: The Workplace-Based Assessment Project (2021)
Colleen C. Gillespie, PhD; Cynthia J. Osman, MD; Molly E. Poag, MD; Julio Garcia; Nikola Koscica, MS; Mohammad Paracha; Nivedha Satyamoorthi; and Jesu Vensuslaus, MS

Title: The Disparities and Social Determinants of Health Curriculum Innovation Taskforce (2020)
Richard E. Greene, MD, MHPE; Tiffany E. Cook; Ruth Crowe, MD, PhD; Nadia S. Islam, PhD; Terri-Ann M. Bennett, MD; Blen Girmay, MD; Marie Bragg, PhD; and Norkila Sherpa

Title: The Living Anatomy Project (2019)
Greg Dorsainville, MPS; Sally R. Frenkel, PhD; Victoria M. Harnik, PhD; Kira Melamud, MD; Kristen R. Ramirez, MPhil; Mel G. Rosenfeld, PhD; and Brian M. Shearer, PhD

NYU Grossman School of Medicine Master Educator

Rafael Rivera, Jr., MD, MBA (2019)
David T. Stern, MD, PhD (2018)
Elisabeth J. Cohen, MD (2017)